LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CNC laser, Gcode Interpreter

Hello, I am a beginner in this.
I am with a virtual laser cnc, the cad already has everything with Solidworks. The control move I am doing with labview (x axis, y axis).
The communication between solidworks and labview I already finish, I can move both axes by entering their coordinates.

My problems:
To generate the  G-code I use the grbl laser software, which already vectorizes and generates the g codes.

In the g-code, does anyone know how I can do the g-code interpreter with labview? Once I had the g-code, which I obtained with the laser grbl. That is, what would make Labview understand the G-codes generated with the software laser grbl.

Someone who already had this experience that can help me please! I'll be very greatful.
From already thank you very much, and sorry for my English.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,690 Views)

To do this well is probably quite a large task (maybe someone has already done it and will share their work here, but I'm not sure how good your chances of that are...).

However, if you have a text file and want to find all the matches for certain patterns, that's certainly possible with LabVIEW.

You can use the Read Text File, and then either Match Pattern or Match Regular Expression (the RE matching may be useful) along with a shift register holding the offset to get what you're looking for.

Assuming you want more than just G1 commands, you'd probably need a For loop to match each pattern desired. Perhaps something like the following:

Example_VI_BD.png

Here I search for two types of expression and then sort them by their position in the file.

Unfortunately, this kind of method will be very dependent on the regular expressions you use, and then if you have multiple types out output (here, a set of each optional X,Y,Z values, and no values) then you'd have to separately parse them.