From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CLAD Question: Case structure Accepting Doubles

I am studying for the CLAD, and on a practice exam came across this question. 

30. You can use all of the following data types as inputs to the case selector terminal except:

A. Doubles

B. Enumerated type values

C. Strings

D. Integers

LabVIEW coerces the double into an integer, so aren't all answers technically correct?

The answer they are looking for is "A", because as I understand it a case structure doesn't actually handle a double since it gets coerced into an integer. Am I correct in this thought process?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(5,660 Views)

I agree, the question does not have the best wording. In fact, if a VI had a variant input and someone asked "what data type can you use as an input?" I would say anything, even though it's coercing to a variant. 

That said, it's definitely not good practice to use a double, and your cases cannot be defined by doubles (you can't have a case called "1.5" for instance).

Message 2 of 12
(5,636 Views)

@adekruif wrote:

I am studying for the CLAD, and on a practice exam came across this question. 

30. You can use all of the following data types as inputs to the case selector terminal except:

A. Doubles

B. Enumerated type values

C. Strings

D. Integers

LabVIEW coerces the double into an integer, so aren't all answers technically correct?

The answer they are looking for is "A", because as I understand it a case structure doesn't actually handle a double since it gets coerced into an integer. Am I correct in this thought process?

I think you nailed it.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.