cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN message manipulation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I'm new to LabView and i'm finding it extremely challenging, mainly due to data types.

Firstly I need my project to save all CAN messages.

Secondly I need to inspect the ArbitationID and act on it accordingly (some resulting in a CAN write)

Then I need to file the data accordingly and show some data on the GUI

Usign the single read I can convert the CAN message inc timestamp to a string and save it but if i try and convert it to a cluster for manipulatuion all I get is the 8 bytes of data

If I use the multi CAN read I can't break the 5 elements within a cluster within an array down to save the message

Any thoughts?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,308 Views)

It sounds like you don't have much experience with LabVIEW at all.  Here are some free training if you are interested:

3 Hour Introduction http://www.ni.com/white-paper/5243/en/

6 Hour Introduction http://www.ni.com/white-paper/5241/en/

LabVEW Basics http://www.ni.com/gettingstarted/labviewbasics/

Self Paced training for students http://www.ni.com/academic/students/learn/

Self Paced training beginner to advanced, SSP Required http://sine.ni.com/myni/self-paced-training/app/main.xhtml

LabVIEW Wiki on Training http://labviewwiki.org/LabVIEW_tutorial#External_Links

Beyond that I'd recommend looking at the Example Finder found under the Help menu.  You didn't say your hardware but I assume it is XNET.  There are several examples with different ways to perform the read, and they will return different data types.  Opening the context help can show the structure of the data and help you understand how to get what you need.

If you need more help try to post a VI of what you have tried.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,290 Views)
Hi, I'm using the NI USB-8473 interface. I've been through a fair few of the examples and videos NI offer as well as exploring the example finder for the last week.