LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

C# and LabView .Net Interop DLL: Cannot pass a GCHandle across AppDomains and System.Reflection.TargetException when calling into LabView DLL

Hi All.

I am wondering whether someone could help me please as I am really at a loss here. I am a seasoned C# developer and just started learning LabView to support others. Here is a background to me issue.

I am using a uEye camera and I intent to write some basic LabView VIs or functions, and export them as .Net Interop DLL so that I am able to use those VIs/functions in a C# application with some LabView components developed by other teams. In short, I can do simple and basic stuff but I have problems with exceptions when trying to do basic initialisation or acquire. Here are my three problems. I will start with simple ones first.

I am using LabView 2015 (not SP1) and VS2013 Update 5. The uEye driver is a .Net dll used in both LabView and C# and both are same version 1.6.3.0.

Problem 1: When a VI is outputting an array of bytes or strings as an example and that VI is exported for use in C#, how does one set the VI to output null value if the VI does not manage to perform certain task? In my head, I see indicators in LabView always outputting something. This is essentially saying if null then the method fails or output something if successful, therefore, C# can check for null.

Problem 2: In LabView, I have a VI that takes a .Net reference to uEye.Camera (already created in a different VI and initialised) and perform acquisition in the VI and it works. Next, this VI is exported as a .Net Interop DLL in which C# just calls the LabView method and passes a uEye.Camera reference to the method. This camera reference is already created and initialised.

The LabView VI is exported as e.g. public static void Interop.LabViewExports.CameraExample.uEye_CameraSnap_From_LabView( uEye.Camera );