LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

C# VISA wait on RQS

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to write a simple C# (.NET 4.0) program to control a Keithley 2400 SMU over VISA GPIB and I'm having trouble with getting the program to wait for the Service Request that the Keithley sends at the end of the sweep.

The sweep is a simple linear voltage sweep, controlled internally by the Keithley unit. I've got the unit set up to send a ServiceRequest signal at the end of the sweep or when compliance is reached.

I'm able to send the commands to the SMU and read the data buffer, but only if I manually enter a timeout between the sweep start command and the read data command.

One issue I'm having is that I'm quite new to C# - I'm using this project (porting parts of my LV code) to learn it. 

Here is what I have so far for my C# code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Threading;
using NationalInstruments.VisaNS;

private void OnServiceRequest(object sender, MessageBasedSessionEventArgs e)
{
Console.WriteLine("Service Request Received!");
}

// open the address Console.WriteLine("Sending Commands to Instrument"); instrAddr = "GPIB0::25::INSTR"; mySession = ResourceManager.GetLocalManager().Open(instrAddr);
// Cast to message-based session mbSession = (MessageBasedSession)mySession;
// Here's where things get iffy for me... Enabling the event and whatnot mbSession.ServiceRequest += new MessageBasedSessionEventHandler(OnServiceRequest); MessageBasedSessionEventType srq = MessageBasedSessionEventType.ServiceRequest; mbSession.EnableEvent(srq, EventMechanism.Handler); // Start the sweep (SMU was set up earlier) Console.WriteLine("Starting Sweep"); mbSession.Write(":OUTP ON;:INIT");

int timeout = 10000; // milliseconds // Thread.Sleep(10000); // using this line works fine, but it means the test always takes 10s even if compliance is hit early