LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bytes at Port are random

Hello,

I have a problem with my VI.  I use a Bytes at Port element before a VISA read which gives me random bytes which seems to correlate with strange outcomes. 

When the Bytes at Port reads 0 bytes, of course the outcome is 0.

When the Bytes at Port reads 9 bytes (which is the correct amount), the outcome is correct unless the read buffer reads (0,0,3,0) which also makes the outcome equal to 0.

When the Bytes at Port reads 4 bytes, the outcome then multiplies by 10,000.

I have no idea what is wrong.  I have tried many fixes which I have found on forums and discussions, nothing seems to be working.  I am using a Lock-In Amplifier in the COM1 port for this VI.  I have configured this instrument and port into MAX.

I cannot unfortunately display my VI because I am working for a professor at a University, so therefore this isn't really my work to display.

I am relatively new to LabVIEW, only been working on it for a little over a month.

Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,943 Views)

@Larryr11 wrote:

When the Bytes at Port reads 9 bytes (which is the correct amount), the outcome is correct unless the read buffer reads (0,0,3,0) which also makes the outcome equal to 0.

When the Bytes at Port reads 4 bytes, the outcome then multiplies by 10,000.

Please define what you mean by "outcome". How are you processing the raw string from the read operation?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,942 Views)

Describe the "many fixes" that you've tried so we don't duplicate your effort.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(2,940 Views)