From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Button to Record Elapsed Time

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to LabVIEW and creating a program to measure eight thermocouples simultaneously during a welding procedure. I am appending the data to a .csv file because we are running for multiple hours, and once the file size of an .xlsx gets too big, the sample rate slows down. However, this makes it more difficult to determine the exact time of certain temperatures, which we would like to know so we can denote certain processes (preheat, interpass, etc.).

My current goal is to create a button that will read the current value of the "Elapsed Time" indicator and write it down somewhere on the front panel, and subsequent presses continue to add to this list of saved times. The button will act like the "Lap" button on a stopwatch, saving timestamps when pressed.

Thank you,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,768 Views)

In order to show multiple times, you'll need to change your elapsed time indicator to an array. You can store this array in a shift register. If you press record time, put your new time first so it is at the top of your array. You already have the while loop, you just need to add the shift registers, build array, and case structure.

Also, if you have time it would be good to look into some LabVIEW basics and design patterns. Many projects start out small, and then you add little features here and there and they become a nightmare to maintain. If you learn how to use State Machines and Producer / Consumer (events) patterns it will make your life much easier!

temp.png

Message 2 of 10
(3,752 Views)

Thanks for the help!