LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Burglar Alarm System Design?

Hi I am looking for a Burglar Alarm System program on Labview, I have found this one example however it is missing a Sub Vi named Arm.vi

Any help would be greatly appreciated if anyone has any programs or could work out how to get this one running. I am no expert on Labview so need loads of help.

Thank You

EDIT: Link removed

Message Edited by Support on 11-04-2009 08:39 AM
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(5,832 Views)

The "Arm.vi" sub-vi is the heart of the program! The rest is just a rather messy wiring of the "entry" switches. Not sure why the "panic" button is set to stop the program, they usually set off the alarm. Judging from what is in the vi you supplied (apparently a school project) the "Arm.vi" allows the user to enter a "security code" from the keypad, waits some time after that, then starts monitoring the status of the "entry switches". If you have LabVIEW I would suggest making a simple program that loops at a specific rate (use a timed loop if available (I think it is only in the Full Dev package), otherwise a loop with a "wait (ms)" function set to a reasonable time (don't need to scan too fast, once every 200mS is More than fast enough I would think), and if it detects a "breech" sets a latched boolean (shift registers can be used to latch a boolean).  Give it a try, it is the way you grow to be "an expert at LabVIEW". It is unlikely that you will get a complete solution here, but if specific, incremental questions are asked you probably will.

Putnam
Certified LabVIEW Developer

Senior Test Engineer North Shore Technology, Inc.
Currently using LV 2012-LabVIEW 2018, RT8.5

LabVIEW Champion

Message 2 of 17
(5,822 Views)
Message Edited by aeastet on 10-20-2009 10:30 AM
Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(5,820 Views)

Is this for a school project?

If so, you can ask for help and learn how to program LabVIEW, which is likely the purpose of the project.