From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Block diagram symbol cheatsheet?

Is there a block diagram symbol cheatsheet somewhere?

I'm a novice and the most frustrating thing for me is the myriad of icons representing variables and their different "types".  I don't mean u16, fixed point, etc., as is depicted here.  I mean shared variables, rings, and other things I don't quite understand yet.  Case in point is the attached image from the FOC FPGA example (that I'll need to use).  

The context help mechanism doesn't help.

Thanks,

Steve

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(14,712 Views)

I don't know about a cheat sheet.  But here's a few quick descriptions.

A house indicates a local variable

A globe indicates a global variable

Your constant there is a type def (triangle in corner).  I can't really say it is a ring or an enum without seeing the context help or opening the type def.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(14,711 Views)

I found one reference here, by googling.  

http://www.princeton.edu/~mae224/labmanual/labviewreference.pdf

Aside from that, I don't know of a cheatsheet at this point.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(14,652 Views)

Some years ago LV came with a cheat sheet.  It was probably in the LV3 or LV4 era.  The link Andrew posted looks a lot like part of the manuals from one of the older versions.

The LV3 manuals were one of the best set of software manuals ever published.

Lynn

Message 4 of 10
(14,649 Views)