LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blackfin Microprocessor Vs ARM Microcontroller

Hi, I would like to know pros and cons for Blackfin and ARM Labview Embedded software. I am new to embedded software. My intention is to make an independent controller like a real time system. I know that Blackfin embedded software targets a microprocessor where as ARM embedded software targets a microcontroller. I would like to know which one would be a good tool for a beginner like me. I dont want to buy one now and another one later cause these softwares are not cheap. I appreciate if someone can lay side by side the pros and cons for like the ease of programming, the intermideiate hardware required between the computer and the target for program transfer, the available drivers for accessing the hardware (Digital IO, Serial Port, CAN etc..) flexibilty for making custom integrated circuit boards.

Thanks in advance.

Mudda.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(8,577 Views)
See this article
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(8,519 Views)

If you are looking for ease in programmability then you may consider the Blackfin as your solution. NI LabVIEW has matured nicely with the Blackfin with many 3rd parties developing a lot of stuff on the side. The Blackfin uses a different OS to that of the ARM7 microcontrollers, due to licensing options (or so I believe). The Blackfin OS can be a little more difficult to program but hopefully a lot of this is taken up in the background with LVE - as it is more mature in its development over the ARM7.

We are currently looking at developing a product with the Blackfin after utilising so much time developing with the ARM7 (lpc2368, based on the LPC2378 dev board). To clarify, we are developing another product using the Blackfin processor. In the next few months we should have a much better idea of what we are dealing with.