LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Better Understanding Modbus

I am working on a project where I would need Modbus to communicate with a PLC, a VFD and an ac induction servo motor and have it run through labview (VFD will drive the motor, PLC will provide feedback). I am new to Modbus, and I am currently waiting on the PLC and VFD to arrive, so I was wondering how I could go about creating a program that will get the motor operating for labview to run when the PLC and VDF arrive.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,741 Views)

Start reading the manuals of your Modbus hardware to learn what its specific commands are.  Then get the NI Modbus Library to handle the actual communication protocol.  It's available in the JKI VI Package Manager (VIPM).  

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,704 Views)

Check here for documents and specifications on how modbus works. The Modbus Organization

I have used this library quite a bit for Modbus communication. MODBUS Library for LabVIEW  It is a bit older, but still works.

A newer library is available here.  https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-30140

If you have the DSC module, then you can set up modbus libraries in your project where you give the address and register parameters for the device you are communicating with, and can access those values like they are network shared variables in your project.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,702 Views)

MODbus itself is pretty straight forward. It is a method to directly read or write to the registers of a device. Often the hardest part of using it is determining what you want to write to which registers. Once you have that figured out you just need to go through the correct protocols.