LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practice for calling LLB VI's programmatically AND in a SubPanel

I am new to LabView programming and trying to avoid the corners I have painted myself into with textual programming in the past.  I know pretty much what I want (but open to advice), just not sure if I know the best way to get there.

I have a library file with a VI in it that connects to a physical device and provides a panel to configure communication.  I want this panel in my application (as a SubPanel I assume) but I also want to be able to programmatically access the VI when the panel isn't in use.  So I did "Select a VI" on the block diagram and dropped it in, in addition to doing an Invoke Node and "Insert VI" to put it in the SubPanel.  This feels kind of wrong though.  Is there a way to just have one "instance" of the VI and access it both programmatically and in the SubPanel?  Or is that asking for more headache?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,134 Views)

Hi Brian,

@BrianOSullivan wrote:

Is there a way to just have one "instance" of the VI and access it both programmatically and in the SubPanel?

In a Subpanel you only show the front panel of a subVI. It is your decision to show that frontpanel - or not to show it…

Conclusion: there is only one instance of that subVI running and you can decide, if/when to show its frontpanel in a Subpanel container.

You don't even need subpanels, you can also open/close the frontpanel of that subVI as a separate window…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,110 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

In a Subpanel you only show the front panel of a subVI. It is your decision to show that frontpanel - or not to show it…

Conclusion: there is only one instance of that subVI running and you can decide, if/when to show its frontpanel in a Subpanel container.