LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Way to Handle Datalogging between Parallel Loops?

Solved!
Go to solution

Midway through a project using multiple parallel QSMs to log data on different units. I'm a labview rookie so I'd like to learn the best way to do things rather than crash through what happens to work. 

Each QSM is a parallel loop for a different unit. They may start and stop at different times, and all I'd like to do is log data for each unit in the same file. Obviously the data-logging has to happen separate from any one QSM loop, otherwise it won't log at all. 

As a rough prototype I came up with the attached, which seems to work.... is there a better way to do this? 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,332 Views)

If those two loops you have are the same, you could (should) put it in a SubVI and launch two of them. You can save the data inside the loop if you want. Perhaps more common would be to send the data to a separate loop where it is logged to a file so that accessing the hard drive doesn't slow down your main acquisition loop.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,296 Views)

Some comments:

• Your two loops (running at different speeds, potentially) are accumulating the data in Shift Registers, which means that the data being saved gets larger and larger (without bounds, potentially).  If the program should crash before the data are saved (when you exit the loop), all the data are lost.
  • You combine the two Data Arrays into a 2D array before writing the data to disk.  I assume you know that in a 2D array, all the Rows and all the Columns need to be the same length.  You are combining (as columns!) two independent Arrays which may well be of different lengths, while will cause the shorter dimension to be padded with zeros.  Do you want this?