LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic question on case structures

Hi,

I have been using a boolean case structure to handle two different cases (if a measured value is higher or lower then a threshold value), but now I need to add a third case (if the value is in a range in the middle).
I cant figure out how to do this and the LV help and examples dosent give me any ideas, so if you have any examples in store it would be much appreciated.

/Mathias
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,836 Views)
I'm new to LabView and thought the help index on this subject was well written and clear. Did you find this?:

Creating Case Structures
"4. For each case, use the Labeling tool to enter a single value or lists and ranges of values in the case selector label at the top of the Case structure. For lists, use commas to separate values. For numeric ranges, specify a range as 10..20, meaning all numbers from 10 to 20 inclusively. You also can use open-ended ranges. For example, ..100 represents all numbers less than or equal to 100, and 100.. represents all numbers greater than or equal to 100. For string ranges, a range of a..c includes all strings beginning with a or b, but not c. A range of a..c,c includes the ending value of c."
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,821 Views)

Enum is best way to control case statements.  Best if used in custom control type def.

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361B-01/lvconcepts/custom_cont_ind_type/

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,810 Views)
Hi,

gchristi1: I looked at the case structure help file and it does explain it well, but i do not understand how to go from having measured values into the enumerated case structure.

So the question is how I based on a numeric value pick a enum value for the case structure.

centerbolt : As far as I can tell the custom controls are about cosmetc changes of controls?

Thanks,
Mathias
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,801 Views)

Mathias,