LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ball and Beam (pid to pwm) problem

Hi,

I am a college student and I have learned so much from reading these forums but I haven't learned enough. I have a problem where I am reading the ball position from a Sharp analog distance sensor. I am feeding that 1-3 volt into the process variable of the PID controller. I am trying to tune it using ziegler nichols method. I have been struggling with it for too long and I now need some help. I tried to scale the output from my controller by simultaneous equations to keep the PID output within my duty cycle range of (0.045 to 0.1) set at 50 hz for a Futaba s3003 motor. this works until I change the gain and my range from my PID shifts. can somebody help me with this?

i have attached my VI sorry its so bad I am just starting out with all of this and a real newbie!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,140 Views)

Guys,

could you explain how to use the output of a pid to control the duty cycle for a dc motor? i know its pwm but how do I keep the output within the range for the Duty cycle?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,051 Views)

Hi Paddy,

@Paddyirishman wrote:

how do I keep the output within the range for the Duty cycle?

You can set the output range limits when you use the PID functions provided by NI! (Even the basic PID provides that feature…)

Mind to downconvert your VI to LV2017 and attach it again?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,041 Views)

First of all thanks GerdW,

I did set my output range limits but my controller goes from end to end of the range really quick. the range for my PWM is tiny (.045-0.1) duty cycle. i have tried to downconvert my vi. hope it works.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(1,033 Views)

Hi Paddy,

@Paddyirishman wrote: