LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Averaging the last N images of a live stream from a Hamamatsu Orca flash 4 V3 and displaying it

Hi everyone, 

I want to preface with the fact that I have no Labview experience and have been trying to teach myself most of it for the last while. 

What I'm trying to accomplish is the following. I have a Hamamatsu Orca Flash 4 V3 camera, which comes with a video capture library for LabView. I am trying to perform the following calculation for live image processing: <I^2> / <I>^2, where I denotes the intensity at each pixel of the image generated by the camera, and <> denotes the time average over N frames. So ultimately, I would like to display the raw live stream from the camera, and along side it, display the images generated by this averaging and normalization as the live stream acquires more images. I use the Hamamatsu video capture library to initialize and grab images from the camera, and use the IMAQ pallete to visualize the images. I have attached a VI and a screen shot of the VI (as you may not have some packages). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,132 Views)

From the manual:

Refer to the following for examples that use this VI.

• LabVIEW\examples\Vision\Operators\Image Averaging.vi

Then use 
imaq_muldiv To multiply it with itself (^2)

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,094 Views)

Hi!

Thank you so much for the reply. I was able to use some of the samples provided by Hamamatsu and use a buffer and average the images. However, now I'm having an issue with the math. When I square the images by using the IMAQ Multiply function, I think I'm overflowing the image, and i end up with a completely white image. Do you think there's a way around it? I tried using IMage2Array, squaring it with numeric square, and then converting back, but I still get a white image and the processing gets much slower.  I've attached my HTML file for the code, and a VI.