LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic Import of TDMS file into Excel

Solved!
Go to solution

I was looking at the NI TDMS import plugin for Excel and it seems that the newest version of the plugin uses the COM API which could allow the import function to be used automatcially. There is a short info page about this here http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/10207 but I'm new to Excel Macros and VBA so I'm not sure how to go from this tutorial to what I am wanting to do.

Specifically, I am wondering if anyone knows (and could post an example of) how to do the following:

From within a labview VI, the user would select a path to a tdms file. Once this path is selected, the VI would call the TDMS import excel plugin and run it on the file.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,938 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author scrook

After playing with things, I have worked out the solution to this and I am posting it for everyone in case it can be of some use. In order to use this solution to work out of the box, you will need the report generation toolkit. If you don't have that, you would need some other way of launching Excel from labview and running a macro. Hopefully someone who has the knowledge on how to do that will post that portion in this thread for those who don't have the toolkit Smiley Happy

To start out, open excel and in the menubar select Tools -> Macros -> Visual Basic Editor. The source for the macro you will create is:

Sub TDMImport(fileName)
'Get TDM Excel Add-In
Dim obj As COMAddIn
Set obj = Application.COMAddIns.Item("ExcelTDM.TDMAddin")
obj.Connect = True

'Confirm only importing "Description" properties for Root
Call obj.Object.Config.RootProperties.SelectAll

'Show the group count as property
Call obj.Object.Config.RootProperties.Select("Groups")

'Select all the available properties for Group
Call obj.Object.Config.GroupProperties.SelectAll

'Import custom properties