cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Arduino send xbee packet of double to Labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello
I'm a newbie and use a union code to send a double number to labview using arduino uno .
this code
union {
   double f;
   byte b[4];
} stuff;

stuff.f = number to send;

payload[1] = stuff.b[0];
payload[2] = stuff.b[1];
payload[3] = stuff.b[2];
payload[4] = stuff.b[3];

and in my Labview vi i receive:

sending number        payload 1   payload 2   payload 3    payload 4
0                                     0               0                  0                   0
1                                     0               0                128                 63
2                                     0               0                   0                 64
3                                     0               0                   64               64
4                                     0               0                  128              64
3,14159                        208             15                 73                64

how can I get the double in my vi??? I've tried join numbers ..and didn't work....

thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,269 Views)
Solution
Accepted by JÞB

Well, there are some things very wrong here.  What does a "dbl" mean to you?  To LabVIEW, this is a Double-Precision Float, which is a 64-bit, 8-byte representation of a number in floating-point format.  To represent it, you would need to send 8 bytes.

There is also the LabVIEW "sgl", a Single-Precision 32-bit, 4-byte floating-point representation.  If your Arduino number really occupies 4 bytes, it is what LabVIEW would call a "sgl".  I don't know what the Arduino code you quote means, but "double f" seems to be a 4-byte float.