LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aquarium Automatic Water LEvel Control

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Labview, and am currently attempting to make a VI that controls automatically the water level in an aquarium.

What I am trying to do is have the water level in the tank decrease slowly over time simulating evaporation. At a preset level (70-80% full), a pump comes on to fill the tank back up to 100%.

I have tried a few different methods, all of which have had less than the desired outcome. The current attempt uses a case structure, and I have successfully written two small block diagrams within the case structure for "evaporate" (drain) and "fill".

They work, but I am only controling it with a simple boolean on/off control.

It needs to:

1.) Be able to discriminate when the tank has evaporated to approximately 80% full and kick in the fill routine until 100% full.

2.) The tank level indicator only updates when the routine has finished running. I'm sure this is because it is sitting outside the structure, but every attempt I make to move it inside the structure doesnt work. I would like it to display real time fill / evaporate.

3.) When the cycle of evaporation / fill completes, it needs to start the cycle all over again with evaporation.

I have searched the examples and forum posts here, played with quite a few of the posted VI's and tried to modify them, but still can't get this thing to work properly.

I have attached my latest attempt to this post. Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance !

Chris

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(7,291 Views)

Sounds like homework so I'm going to be a bit vauge.