LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Appending Data to tables and graphs

I'm trying to figure out how to append data that's collected to the table and xy graph.  To get the initial data the program goes through a while loop with shift registers (it's a massive program) once it's finishes collecting the data and graphing it, the next time say after I change the sample and tell it to restart collecting data it clears the table and graph.  Is there a way to just append the data?  Currently I have to copy the data out of the table and put it into an excel spread sheet.  I'm collecting data from 8 different sensors, so it does take some time.  I know there's a VI I could use, but I'm still new at labview and it's really not my primary function.  I'm also pretty sure the way I currently have the program set up to collect data from all 8 sensors could have been made neater, but I was in a hurry and do plan to clean it up later.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,347 Views)

Can u show some code?  it's impossible to "debug" words.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,346 Views)

Here's part of the code, sorry it's not very neat.  I've circled the area of interest.  Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,329 Views)

Store the data in a shift register (or a file if needed) and append the new data

append.png

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(4,304 Views)

Thanks,  I've only tried the top section, but it didn't quite work, so I have a few questions. 

Does this for loop exist inside the current case structure? 

The number for the loops I'm assuming that this is the number of times I wish to append the data so I could make that I number on the front page that the user inputs?

I'm assuming that the "sensor 1" and "2d string array" are just my data strings and that I bring them into the for loop and remove the indexing for them (i.e. they aren't the switch loops). 

The actual switches what is the control for them?  Or can I just have it like you show it.