LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anybody use LV with a graphics tablet/digitizer/pen tablet?

Hello

Does anybody have any recommendation for an alternate input device (to replace the mouse) that works well in the LV environment?

Thanx in advance.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,675 Views)
I've been using a Kensington Expert Mouse Pro for about 2 years now. It's a fairly large trackball (the ball itself is almost the size of a pool ball) and has 4 configurable buttons around the ball.

The layout works just as well left or right handed.

Ed

Ed Dickens - Certified LabVIEW Architect - DISTek Integration, Inc. - NI Certified Alliance Partner
Using the Abort button to stop your VI is like using a tree to stop your car. It works, but there may be consequences.
Message 2 of 12
(4,675 Views)
I use these as well.

One of the biggest benefits of the track ball is that the cursor movements can be issolated from button clicks. This lets you put the cursor at the exact location you are after, then without touching the ball, you can do your clicks.

This can sometimes be difficult to do using a mouse because the mouse moves just a little when you click.

The ball also lets you "throw" the cursor where you want it it to go.

If you decide to try one of these, I suggest you start out by being very conscience of your hand/arm position. You want to develop good habits that will prevent carple (sp?) tunnel.

I have three of these track balls. One for each machine I code on. I did manage to wear out one of the buttons on the machine I use at work (
8 hrs/day for 3 years). I was able to swap the switch that was bad with one that I never used and I am still using now.

I love my track balls!

Ben
Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
Message 3 of 12
(4,675 Views)
> Does anybody have any recommendation for an alternate input device (to