From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Angular measurements

Hello,

I am new to Labview (Full) and Sound and vibration measurement suite and wish to know, how exactly should I go about processing Acceleration vs Crank angle degree measurements.

I acquire data through the accels/cam signal and a crank sensor. The crank sensor has (60-2) teeth, and the cam sensor has 1 pulse every 2 rotations (runs half of the speed of the crank). I measure accelerations on the components on the same DAQ, and wish to use the capabilities of the available tools to get Acceleration vs Crank angle. Can someone sort of guide me how should I go about achieving this?

I can also use an encoder (3600pulses per rev)- it would be helpful if something can serve both pupose Crank angle and encoder? (Not sure if this is possible- again I am new to angle domain processing)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,878 Views)

It depends. 

One convenient way, provided your DAQ device supports the capability, is to use the encoder as a sample clock. With the 3600 pulses/rev encoder you would get 10 samples per degree of crank angle. Sample the crank and cam sensors as well as the accelerometers so that all the data can be "synchronized." I use "synchronized" in quotes because you are now working in the angle domain and not the time domain implied by that word.