From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An FPGA clock is out of the correct CLIP Clock range.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm quite new to LabVIEW and I can't seem to make any headway.  I'm working in LabVIEW 2010 and I have the LabVIEW FPGA software installed as well.

I'm trying to just put something on my PXIe-7965R but can't seem to get my clocks to work.  I'm using the VHDL code given here http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371599F-01/lvfpgahelp/fpga_clip_clock_ex_code/ in an attempt to just get the software to comunicate with the hardware.  I've created and added the CLIP file to my project, but I'm still getting an error.  I feel that the problem is with a 200MHz clock.

I'm not sure if this is part of the default settings or not, but I can't seem to get rid of this 200MHz clock.  I have the default 40MHz clock selected under the FPGA target properties as the top-level clock, and have no aditional clocks added in my Project Explorer window.  I am using a newly created blank project.

The problem is with the IO Module (NI 5761) (at least that's where the exclamation mark is).  When I go to the Clock Selection tab in IO Module >> Properties, it lists both the 40MHz clock and the 200MHz clock clocks; the pulldown tabs next to them allow me to select either Top-Level Clock or 40MHz Onboard Clock.  In the status message below, it says:

An FPGA clock is out of the correct CLIP Clock range.

CLIP Clock: Clk200   Minimum Rate: 199 MHz  Maximum Rate: 201 MHz

FPGA Clock: 40 MHz Onboard Clock  Rate: 40 MHz