From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allow specific characters - Regular Expression

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone

I am new to regular expression and I have a very simple question. I use the "read from text file" function to load a Tab delimited file with 3 columns into my VI. Next, the string is converted in array and I use the values.

Nevertheless, I want to develop a "filter" allowing only digits (0-9), colon, comma and point into strings.

Using the "match regular expression" function, I was trying a regular expression like that:

[^0-9]|[^\].[|^:]|[^,]

But it is not working.

Could someone help me with this issue?

Thanks

Dan07

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,990 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author dan07

Use the Search and Replace String function with Regular Expression selected.

Example_VI.png

Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,965 Views)

Here's an alternate method using Match Regular Expression, but a wise man once said "When I find myself facing a regex in a loop, I try to see if my old friend Search and Replace can help."

forum Regex.png

Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

Message 3 of 11
(3,958 Views)

Hello

Actually I don't need to modify the string that has "invalid" characters, I just need to identify them instead. Find below a VI testing both methods: Match Regular Expression and Search and Replace String.