LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alicat Scientific MC series LabVIEW control

In our lab, we have two Alicat Scientific MC series Mass flow controller. I was trying to control them directly through LabVIEW (read out the gas properties and set flow rate). There is a plug and play driver provided by AlicatScientific, I downloaded it and put the read and wirte VIs together.

I tested the plug and play driver separately before running the integrated VI which is made by myself. The VI for reading is working properly in our lab, but the writing VI doesn't. Could some one take a look at them and let me know what I should ask Alicat and what modification I should do on the VI.

I also attached the Write&Read VI which is made by me (I simply integrated Read and Write VIs) They both didn't work.

I am very new to LabVIEW programming, Need mentoring. Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 30
(8,457 Views)

Hi xiaoyiwonderfulman, 

I looked into the driver and noticed that it is all fairly simple VISA writes and VISA reads. As I do not have the instrument it is not possible for me to test it any further. 

I did also notice that it is not a National Instruments certified driver, and in this case I believe it would be most beneficial for you to contact the manufacturers support line for further assistance with this, as they were the people who wrote this driver. You can find their support at:

http://www.alicat.com/support/

-N

National Instruments
Staff Certification Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 30
(8,417 Views)

Hi there

The company where I work sells AlicatScientific devices, and often I do build instruments with them and also do software in Labview to control these instrumets.