LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Aeroflex 2975 driver for LabVIEW 8.0

Is there a way to convert the Aeroflex IFR 2975 driver for LabVIEW CVI for use in LabVIEW 8.0?  OR, is there a driver already developed for this? 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,978 Views)
Yes you can directly convert the CVI driver to a LabView driver which basically creates a wrapper around it. I did convert this very same driver in LabView 7.1 and have up converted it to 8.0.  In 7.1 it was under tools>>instrumentation>>Import CVI driver. I could not find this tool in LabView 8.0 but if you search help for convert LabWindows driver it states "Download the LabVIEW Interface Generator for LabWindowsTM/CVITM Instrument Drivers tool to obtain this functionality." Just a note here if you are planning on controlling this instrument using GPIB. It does not seem it is 488.2 compliant. I've been using this driver for 3 years now and I still get errors because there is no handshaking between the instrument and the controlling computer. I have been in contact with this company trying to get this resolved (I just sent them alot of info about this yesterday). Even though some progress has been made on these problems they are not included in that driver. I have been working to create a new driver using the TCL command set but am having problem with the MAV(Message Available) bit. They finally asserted (logic hi) it when the data buffer is ready to be read but did not provide a way to deassert it(logic lo).So once it goes hi it stays hi. Not very useful for handshaking. They should have at least included a *CLS command to clear the it but have not. As you can tell I am not very happy with this company. When they say in their ads that the instrument is 488.2 compliant I expect it to be. If you want more details on how I got this driver to work at all post back and I'll fill you in.
Now Using LabVIEW 2019SP1 and TestStand 2019
Message 2 of 6
(2,973 Views)