LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on code structure please

Hi,

I am a newbie to labview but not to programming.

Here is what I want to do:  Simulate an object moving on a conveyer that has optical sensors, and then develop my program that does some measurements based on when the sensors change.

In my main VI I have a while loop that executes every 10th ms.  It calls a sub VI that updates the conveyer position and the state of the sensors.  All works well.  Now I want to work on my application which in the real world could sit and wait on the state of the optical sensors.  Of course, if I wait on anything while including my simulated conveyer then my conveyer does not get updated!  So, I need to effectively execute my conveyer update and control code in parallel.  I want to avoid doing any server/client type thing to keep it simple for learning.  Is the best way to handle it to use a state machine in my main while loop to keep checking the optical sensors then change state when required?  That way it does not have to wait/block on anything.

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

Ashley

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,058 Views)

Hi Ashley,

The thing you're trying to do is called "Hardware-in-the-Loop" simulation. 

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/4566/en/

U can use "queued state architecture" or "producer/consumer loop" to effectively deploy this system. Here you will have to use two loops. One for User-Interface and other for Processing/Data Acquisition. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(3,039 Views)

Ashley,