LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for a beginner

I've been reading the boards here for a bit and I really appreciate all the time experienced users spending contributing. I feel like I've learned a lot. I am hoping some experienced LabVIEW devs can give me some advice.

MY PROBLEM
The company I work for pours hundreds of thousands of bottles of fragrance oil every year. We carry over 150 different oils with widely ranging viscosities and sell them by weight. We bottle small batches at a time (25 to 100 lbs) into a range of small bottles 1, 4, 8, and 16 ounces.

Due to the small batch size, need for net weight filling, and wide viscosity range we've had a VERY difficult time finding a commercial filling system that will work and is affordable (< 50k).

I am a programmer for this company who works on the web and operations. I work mostly in ruby and javascript. I had heard of LabVIEW before, but really became interested in the idea of using it to solve this filling problem when I started using the super simplified version included in Lego Mindstorms NXT a few years ago. 

MY IDEA
I've been thinking about trying to build a filling machine using LabVIEW, a USB load cell (to remove the complexity of programming a load cell), and a simple valve to control flow from a reservoir to the bottle. Ideally a user would put a bottle on the load cell under a valve stem, enter a number of ounces (1-16) and press fill. The system would tear the weight of the bottle, then open the valve and keep it open until the correct weight it reached. Once this is perfected I would expand to 4 heads (I would outsource tanks and rigging to a local fabricator).

MY QUESTION