LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Addopt embedded LV to embedded Linux - what do I have to do?

Hello.
I'm a student doing my thesis work in sweden and I'm quite new to LV.
I read the manual for porting emb.LV Runtime but don't have an idea where I have to start with.
my platform is an microcomputer (NetDCU8) with an ARM 9 prozessor, touchscreen, Network, serial ports, SD-Card and ADC's running embedded Linux (Emlix).

The graphic part I allready programmed in C/C++ and it could be running as a thread.

This is what I need to programm within LV:
- starting the graphicfunction as a thread
- reading values from ADC's and store them into global Arrays every 60 seconds
- doing some calculations with those values
- storing values into logfiles onto Networkfolder and SD-Card (both mounted when the target start up Linux)

I'm able to do all this stuff in C/C++. But as a part of my thesis work, I have to make emb. LV useable for programming for my target.
The BSP is only for Linux-Computers.

I'm not very familar with operating systems and have zero experience in porting anything.
But if there are some good hints, where I have to look at and what I maybee can use, that's already done, then I think I have a chance to manage it.

...I have only 1 month left for my work....  Smiley Indifferent

Best regards from Göteborg,

Tobias
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,353 Views)
If you are eveloping on a Windows machine, you can install Cygwin (www.cygwin.org). Once you have done that, the Unix target (provided with LabVIEW Embedded) should work out of the box.

See http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/58781B571699409D8625706E000062A7 : "What Software Do I Need to use the UNIX Console Target? "

I'm no expert, but I think this should work on Linux as well. The LVEmbedded Evaluation 7.1 also uses this target (but there are no source files, only compiled libraries, so you can't customise a lot).