cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding to array of clusters and displaying them all in a XY graph

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I've ran into an issue when trying to add another array to a cluster of arrays. Wondering if anyone has any pointers.

The program takes all the readings from the spreadsheet file and is meant to graph them all with different colours to differentiate which piece of data it is. I got it working when all the lines are the same colour but when trying to split each set of data into its own array it now only displays them one by one and saves none of them.

I have attached the VI and spreadsheet.

Excuse the mess of wires I'm pretty new to all this LabVIEW stuff, and the end condition is just a placeholder for the time being

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,170 Views)
  • All you are doing is appending to an empty diagram constant in each TRUE case. That operation is pointless, because it returns the lower array unchanged.
  • Index array is resizeable.
  • Your outer while loop is a glorified FOR loop (fixed iterations known before the loop even starts. It should be a FOR loop)
  • Shouldn't the number of iterations depend on the data size?
  • Why is the diagram maximized to the screen, but such a mess. (overlapping & hidden items, tons of wire bends, etc.)
  • You cannot guarantee that the reinit to default executes before the loops because there is no data dependency. It is also not needed (you can configure the VI to clear indicators when called).
  • Your file contains many columns but you only ever look at the first two. What exactly are you trying to display?
  • What is the purpose of the comparison and case structure?
  • To append data, you typically would build the data structure in a shift register? Ever heard of them?
  • XY graphs understand complex 1D arrays. Might simplify your code dramatically (e.g. no clusters needed).