LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding element to an array when pushing a button

Hello!

I'm new to Labview. Trying to add element to an array (in my example it is a string VS array of strings) with a push of a button.

How do I make it work?

My example attached.

Thank you!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,165 Views)

You just have to wire your array trough in the "Cancel" Event.
It would also help to put the button controls into the respective Event case to release them after you pushed them.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(5,152 Views)

I would suggest you rethink your example.  As it stands, at best it will add a constant (here "element added") to your array, and do it (or not do it) once.  Not very interesting.

How about expanding the example to do the following:

• Allow you to enter (and edit while entering) something -- I'll use a Dbl (numeric data) as an example.
  • Entering the number will correspond to adding it to the array -- don't need an OK button.
  • An "Undo" button will remove the last-entered number (if any are still there).
  • A "Finished" button will exit from this routine with the final Array showing.

This is clearly an Event Loop with one Numeric Control (let's call in "Number") and two Boolean Latch Switches (let's call them "Undo" and "Finished").  The Array will be carried in a Shift Register, and we will view its contents using an Array of Dbls Indicator ("My Numbers") placed inside the While Loop between the right walls of the Event Structure and the While Loop.  [Do you understand why I placed it there, rather than outside the While Loop?].