From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding Rows to Arrays recursivly

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

Im new to labview and currently stuck on one task. I hope you can help me.

I try to build a VI where one has just two numerical inputs, one button and potentially a display for the resulting array on the front panel.

The first time one presses the button an array with one row and two columns with the two values respectively is created.

Everytime you press the button another row with other values you is added - as often as you want.

My idea was an event structure where one can add a row to an already existing Array. I got it working. But Im not getting the part where I have to make it recursive and run it without and pre-existing array.

Im very grateful for every help. Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,303 Views)

You have the right idea with an event structure. You want to combine an event structure, a While loop, and preferrably a case structure to create a State Machine. Your array can be stored in a Shift Register from iteration to iteration and appended to within a specific case or just within the event structure.

The Simple State Machine template that ships with LabVIEW is really the best way for new developers to get familiar with LabVIEW while utilizing a semi-scalable architecture.

Here's a broad example of how a state machine works:

• States: Init, Idle, Exit, DoThing1, DoThing2, DoThing3
  • Each state contains code that might take some time. Ideally, not too long because that's how long your code could be unresponsive.
  • The Idle state contains an event structure for all user interaction.
  • The front panel has a button that says "Do Thing 1".