From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adapting Signal Express routine to LabVIEW for multichannel measurement with DSA board

I'm new to LabVIEW and am trying to adapt and extend a processing routine from Signal Express.

I need to accurately measure transients of a weak bipolar square wave signal superimposed on a non-zero DC background. [I'm using a PXI-4495 16 channel DSA board and PXI-8106 controller with 4 GB of RAM.] The frequencies are very low (0.5 to 7.5 Hz) but precisely controlled so stacking and robust signal processing works very well in extracting very low amplitude signals in a noisy environment. As an added complication, the sensors used have a 15.6 kHz sinusoidal driving frequency of comparable or greater magnitude than the low frequency signal of interest that has to be removed.

The naive approach of simply measuring at a suitable sampling frequency (in this case, 7800 Hz) and letting the DSA antialiasing filters handle things does not work well and creates strong ringing around signal steps. By trial and error, I found acceptable results in SE by 12x oversampling at 93.6 kHz, applying a multitap Butterworth FIR low-pass filter, then carrying out a simple 12 point average to obtain a clean waveform. This works fine for short sampling intervals, but I need to sample for at least 300 seconds on three to fifteen channels. SE cannot handle the memory requirements.