From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ActiveX real-time with MS Excel

Hi All!
I am new to ActiveX things and have the following situation.
I want to accumulate data from different LABView Channels and write them into Excel (while Excel is open). I want to do this real-time and actually be able to see my values change in Excel. The row and column (E:16 or A:3 or whatever in Excel) need to be defined for each channel. I have to do it this way because it needs to function with an existing Excel program that calculates some results from the incoming values and then displays them in a graph (a pH-diagram for CO2).
I don't have any idea where to start and all examples and discussions seem to deal with writing to spreadsheets WITHOUT the speadsheet program actually being open. It seems no one actually looks at the spreadsheet while the data is being entered, and this is exactly what I need to do.
If anyone has some advice or an example where I can at least start off with logging one channel and see its values change in Excel during logging, it would be fantastic!
I work with LABView 8.2 and NIDAQ 8.3, but I don't have any other special toolkits or report generators and will not be allowed to buy anything else. I also do not have LABView Real-Time. I only have the standard LABView 8.2 and NIDAQ 8.3.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all.

Charel Marais
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,552 Views)