From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquiring data with NI USB-6008 every time it is triggered

Hello! I'm very new to labVIEW (just started working with it yesterday) and my goal is to acquire data from de DAQ board every time it is externally triggered. I'll have a device connected to my PF10 chn that will send triggers every 1sec, and I need to record data every time it does. What I was able to do so far was wait for my trigger to be first read and only then start to acquire the data, but once the first trigger is in, even if I stop triggering the DAQ it keeps acquiring data. I want it to acquire data only every time it is triggered. Is there a way to do this using labVIEW?

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,412 Views)

Hi Teresa,

the USB6008 only allows for start triggers…

(You could start your acquisition upon trigger signal, stop the task after 0.1s, and restart the task to wait for the next trigger. This might work when the trigger signal will only occur every 1s or so…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,408 Views)

Oh okay, that sounds like a good option, thanks. I was reading about dynamic and static events, does that have anything to do with this problem, could I use it to fix my problem?

Also, I was able to trigger this DAQ board consecutively with matlab, so is it a DAQ problem or a labVIEW problem?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,373 Views)

HI Teresa,

@teresacarneiro wrote:

I was reading about dynamic and static events, does that have anything to do with this problem, could I use it to fix my problem?

Events in an event structure have nothing to do with your cheap USB6008 DAQ device…