cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquired Voltage Signal lower than the actual value

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am relatively new to Labview environment. Before delving deep into the problem let me first explain what is the intended outcome of my application.

Firstly, labview will generate an analog voltage signal (a half sine signal with pulse duration of 5ms)

Secondly, the excitation signal will go through an power amplifier and then to a shaker setup where an accelerometer  and a piezoelectric harvester is mounted. The accelerometer measures the actual acceleration level and the harvester will produce a voltage signal based on the incoming mechanical shock.

Thirdly, Labview will acquire the signal from the generated excitation signal (the half sine wave from the first step), the accelerometer signal and the harvester voltage output.

The main goal is to measure the voltage output under mechanical shocks of 100g's.

Till now, I was successful in generating the intended the excitation signal, achieving the desired the acceleration level but when it comes to acquiring the voltage output, I've encountered some problems. The problem is in Labview I am noticing reduced voltage output from the harvester compared to when it is connected to an oscilloscope. For example, in one case, when the oscilloscope shows a maximum peak value of 700 mv, the peak value from the labview is found to be 400 mv.

To resolve this issue, I have tried switching to different input channels of the BNC board but still the problem persists. I double-checked the voltage output of the other two acquired channels (the excitation signal and the accelerometer signal) with an oscilloscope. They match in the both cases but when it comes to the harvester output there seems to be always a discrepency between the acquired data.

I don't know what I am doing wrong. Could anyone help me out here?

Thanks in advance. Looking forward to hearing from you.