LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acceleration Data Acquisition using FPGA, FIFO and Real Time VI (cRIO-9064)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am relatively new to labVIEW and I was hoping some more experienced users in this community could help me out. I am using a compactRIO data acquisition system (cRIO - 9064) with an NI 9234 card with 4 BNC channels to continuously record acceleration data from accelerometers. I am then using this acceleration data for frequency analysis after a Fast Fourier Transform.

I was able to create a labVIEW program on the real-time processor which makes use of the pre-configured scan engine to read the acceleration with a defined sampling period and stores the information in a .tdms file. However, with the scan engine, the minimum sampling period is 1 ms. Since I now have to identify higher frequencies, I need a smaller sampling period (500 microseconds for example). I believe I need to make use of the FPGA Target for this.

I have followed th tutorial  (5. LabVIEW FPGA Tutorial) on the following link to create this: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11198/en/ 

I now have a VI under my FPGA target which acquires the data and using a FIFO, the data is passed to the Real Time VI. I am now able to set sampling periods smaller than 1ms. However, all the acceleration values are showing 0 even if the accelerometers are connected. I have checked the accelerometers with my previous program which made use of the scan engine and they are working fine. I guess that means there is a problem with the FIFO, the FPGA VI or the Real Time VI but I cannot identify the problem.

I have attached a picture of my project structure, pictures of the FIFO configuration as well as the FPGA and Real Time VI. Could anyone point out why all the acceleration values are coming out as 0?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,713 Views)

Hello,