LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AI triggering DO

Hi all,

I may have been posting this in the wrong section before. Anyway, I'm fairly new to labview and I have a pretty basic problem which I'm hoping you could help me with.

My problem:

Aquire a analog signal which will slow down in frequency (from ~60 to 50 Hz). When the frequency reach 50 Hz, I want to send a digital out. It is important that the whole process is very fast, it can maximum take 0.1 ms from when the signal has reached 50 Hz to when the digital is triggered.

I thought I would ask here before I try to do something that probably won't work anyway 🙂

Does anyone know if there's an example VI close to this? I've searched the forum and the example search but haven't found any.

My setup: cRIO 9076, 9401 and the analog in is not yet bought.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,336 Views)

I may be wrong about this, but I think you are "trying to do the impossible".  Here's an argument --  Assume you are working with an absolutely noise-free system, and you want to know when the signal changes from a 50Hz pure sine wave to a 40 Hz pure sine wave.  I chose those frequencies to make the math easier.  The 50 Hz sinusoid will have a peak every 20 msec, while the peak for the 40 Hz sine wave will be 25 msec.  Suppose you sinple detectt peaks and measure the difference.  The time between Peak 1 and Peak 2 is 20 msec, between 2 and 3 is 20 msec, and between 3 and 4 is 25 msec.  Question -- when did the frequency change?  Answer -- sometime between peak 3 and 4, a range of 25 msec.