LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A "resettable" switch

Hello,

I recently started programming again with LabView (after a 7 year hiatus). I am trying to write a program to control a syringe pump. However, to make a long story short, right now I am using a program called KernelPro to virtually create a pair of serial ports connected via a virtual null modem cable. My LabView (version 2011) program can write a string to one port (COM 1) and read the same string from the other port (COM 2). I assume this means that once I hook up the pump, I will be able to communicate properly with it.

Commands will need to be sent to the pump to do things. For example, "Move down to postion 10. Then dispense. Then retract. Repeat this 5 times". Currently, my program can do this (via an assortment of letters and numbers sent in a string to the motor). I envison that the program would roughly work as follows:

1. User inputs the desired parameters.

2. User clicks "Do this"

3. Software sends command to pump.

4. <Idle>

5. User inputs new parameters...

6. Repeat 2-5.

Right now, I have a boolean LED ("send command") which activates a T/F case structure. Inside the structure, the serial ports are initialized, and one serial port is sent the command which is read by the second, and the string is then shown to the user via an indicator on the front panel. Again, as this is a virtual null-modem, the input and output strings are identical.

When running the program in continuous mode, as long as the boolean LED is toggled true, any changes in the commands are sent to the serial ports in real-time (and I can see that it is being read correctly in real time). However, I don't think that I want this to be the case. Referring to my steps above, steps 1-3 work fine, but there seems to be no step 4, and step 5 goes instantly to step 3, skipping step 1 and 2.