LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Fieldpoint Temperature PID without the PID toolkit

Hi,

I'm trying to make a temperature PID using a FP-1000(RS-232) with a FP-TC-120 and FP-DO-400. The copy of LabVIEW that I have does not have the PID add-on and purchasing it is a last resort because of project budgeting. I'm a beginner but I've managed to make a temperature monitor which uses a thermocouple and which saves the input into a file. Now I've been trying to make the monitor into a controller but I've had some trouble finding tutorials/examples which use Fieldpoint and also does not use the PID add-on. Buying a stand alone temperature controller isn't really an option because I will later be trying to make a larger program which includes a mass flow and pressure controller and hopefully this temperature controller will be a good base to work from. Does anyone have suggestions for tutorials/examples relating to Fieldpoint PIDs and how to relay the result from the PID to the FP-DO-400? The temperature controller is mainly meant to keep the temperature constant over longer periods of time (~3 months). The FP-DO-400 will hopefully be connected to heating tape (around the monitored pipe) or another heating source.

Thanks,
Ryan
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,193 Views)

Hi Ryan,