LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3rd party driver and Labview driver conflict

Dear Sir:

I am new to the LABVIEW programming environment.    I own lots of Agilent test equipment and I/O GPIB controller apparatus.

This is the problem.    I used the Agilent I/O utility program to configure my Agilent I/O GPIB device (in this case the device is a  USB to GPIB converter).   The configuration worked fine when my initial installation was conducted.  I then installed LABVIEW and then the Agilent I/O utility program no longer saw my test instruments.    MAX did not detect the Agilent IO GPIB controller device. 

I tried to remedy the problem myself and, hopelessly, made so many changes which were probably detrimental to both program installs that my only remedy appears to be to uninstall and re-install both programs.  

I would like to avoid un-installing and re-installing Labview.   Is there a way I can reset all the labview driver and mode configurations so that Labview will appear to be in a default configuration identical to a new installation (in other words, I am looking for a "reset" configuration option)?

I believe the problem that I have encountered is a common problem and I would like to know before I get into the details of which drivers to enable (HP or NI drivers) what is the best sequence of installation to avoid potential driver conflicts.

For a new installation (no programs are initially installed), is there a sequence of installation which is better:

First, install the Agilent I/O utility and configure the Agilent devices, then install Labview and MAX? or,

First, install Labview/MAX then install the Agilent I/O configuration utility?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,995 Views)