LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2D picture stacking

Hi, I currently have a 2D image I can can capture with the SNAP.vi and effectively turn it into a 2d array of grey scale intensities. How would I stack a large number of these arrays to create a 3D intensity array that can be graphed with a contour plot or 3d surface graph. I'm really new to Labview and cant seem to get a good grasp of making this. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,505 Views)

if you are plotting intensity as your z-axis, you can try the following:

From FP, Control > Graph> 3D Graph > Surface

3DS.png

CY (expired CLAD)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,489 Views)

You're mixing to completely different things.

You have a 3D volume of values (a point cloud on a grid), often referred to as "voxels" (as in 3D "pixels"). A surface is something completely different. You'll need some pretty advanced\specialized algorithms to go from voxels to surface.

In it's 'simplest' form you can apply a threshold, and create triangles between adjacent voxels where the threshold is passed. Usually some surface optimization is applied, like Delaunay triangulation.

You can apply a alpha to textures created from that 3D data, in three directions, and render them as individual textures stacked in 3 directions. That would give a 3D volume rendering effect...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,465 Views)

pardon me, I must have misunderstood the question. but since you brought up the point cloud idea, rokar007's question may have been the reconstruction of a CAD model based on section layers images, like the 3D additive printing in reverse. thanks for pointing it out.

CY (expired CLAD)
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(3,454 Views)

@cy... wrote: