LabVIEW Student Community

Highlighted

Hi, I need help: blinking LEDs

Hello everyone,

I am new at using Labview and, although I spent the last 3 weeks reading the manual  and playing with functions, I still can't find a way to

generate a square/pulse function that turn on an LED when high, and turns it off when low.

I was able to make a circuit with a blinking LED but it seems to be not in sync with my function. Please help me build this circuit. graph.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(7,669 Views)
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Hi, I need help: blinking LEDs

Try this, your boolean was probably not working while offset is not zero.

example.PNG

Message 2 of 8
(3,227 Views)

Hi Njohuri,

Thank you for your reply. I have a little tough time replicating the given code as I am still pretty much a beginner in Labview.

Could you send me the vi file? It might be easier for me this way.

Thank you so much

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,227 Views)

The approach using a simulated square wave has potentially to many pitfalls.

a) You have two timer, one through the frequency settings of the square wave generator and one for the loop

b) If you convert the dynamic data type (blue wire) from the square wave into a double you only use the last data point.

Especially point b) can cause an issues if you configured the square wave in a way that Frequency (Hz) is an even divider of the Timing value Samples per second (Hz) or Reset Signal is not set to Use continuous generation. Since a square wave is a symmetric pattern the last data point (the one used when converting to DBL) is always the same. If you place the express block for the first time and select square wave you will see that the Frequency is set to 10.1 Hz and the preview shows a "moving" square wave. Set the frequency to 10Hz or change reset signal to Reset phase, seed, and Time stamps and you will see that the wave appears to be standing still since start and end point are always the same.