From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to filter analog input signal?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey guys, LabView novice here.  I have a 5DOF IMU (3-axis accelerometer, 2-axis gyro), and I'm trying to filter and manipulate the analog signal it is outputting using LabView.  I expanded the simple "Analog Read Pin" example that came with LIFA so that it will graph all 5 values, but I'm having trouble applying filters.

I have the feeling it's a data type issue, as I am fairly confused about the difference between regular data, dynamic data, waveforms, arrays, etc.. when it comes to the filter.  I simply want a low-pass filter to filter out the noise from vibration.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I attached my VI.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(39,613 Views)

The easiest method to use to filter your signal is an Express "Filter" .  Found at Express > Signal Analysis > Filter.  To use the filter you need to convert the Analog Pin Double data type to  an Expres Dynamic data type using a "Convert to Dynamic Data2' function. 

If you look in the last message in the Converting Analog Input to Frequency" thread there is an example, "Analog ReadPinVers2.VI, that uses the Express "Tone" VI.   Maybe this will help you. 

Double is a regular data type.

All of the Expres VIs require Dynamic data.

Waveforms data type, WDT, is data that includes timing information.

hrh1818

Message 2 of 15
(25,371 Views)