LabVIEW Idea Exchange

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GregFreeman

reentrant VI indicator

I searched reentrant in this idea exchange and didn't see anything on it so here goes. I would like some sort of indicator showing that a VI is reentrant. Right now, as far as I know, you have to go into the properties and check. It would be nice if there could be either something on the icon, or a small label that would show if the VI was reentrant. Or maybe a slight "halo" around the VI, something to that effect. Any other ideas on how to do this are welcome.

Message Edited by for(imstuck) on 02-24-2010 10:00 AM
22 Comments
Knight of NI
I thought about this for a bit and then I asked myself, why would I want to, or need to know this? As a programmer I could, instead, state that it's reentrant in the description for the VI. Then I can see it by simply having the context help window open. Can you provide a little more information as to a use case for needing to have a special icon?
Darin.K
Trusted Enthusiast
When I am being good, I use the border color of the icon to indicate some of the properties I have changed.  For example a modal dialog subVI will have a red border so it gets my attention and I don't plop it into a VI I intend to operate unattended.  Reenetrant VIs get a green border.  Works well for my needs, and is useful now and then, so perhaps a more universal method would be desirable.  I wouldn't mind a Profile tool like 'Show Buffers' that gives a little indication of the reentrant VIs on a BD.  When you need the info it is easy to see on the BD, but you aren't getting hit over the head with it.
GregFreeman
Trusted Enthusiast