LabVIEW Embedded

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview for stm32f103 development board?

hi,

good evening, i'm a student who's currently working on a thesis that involves the stm32f103 development board. our board uses a 32-Bit ARM Cortex-M3 Processor with a 128KB flash memory. it also has RS232 and USB ports for direct connection to the computer. i was just wondering if there are any labview products that are compatible with our board?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 39
(13,891 Views)

Hi mat2_chan2,

You have a few options depending on what you mean by "compatible with our board."  There are 2 options I see:

1) You can use LabVIEW to communicate with your evaluation board (through RS232 or USB).  If you've already got your code working as you wish on the evaluation board, this would be the option for you.

2) You can use LabVIEW and the LabVIEW for ARM module to download actual LabVIEW code to the board itself.  I tried to identify whether or not your chipset would be supported, but you didn't specify enough information.  You can look here: RL-ARM Real-Time Library.  (Chips for which the RL-ARM Real-Time Library exists can support LabVIEW code.)  More information can be found at www.ni.com/arm.  This method would require background work in order to port LabVIEW to your chip - integrating all of the chip's functionality into the LabVIEW environment.  (If you're really tight on time, you need to take this into account.)  See this link: Programming Additional ARM Microcontrollers with LabVIEW (without the LabVIEW Microprocessor SDK)

I hope this helps,

Kevin S.

Applications Engineer

National Instruments

Message 2 of 39
(13,865 Views)

good evening,

thank you very much mr. Kevin_S, that really cleared some things for us. we have already ordered the board but still hasn't arrived yet, so we're not very sure about the chip. based from our research, we think it uses the stm32e103RB microcontroller.