LabVIEW Embedded

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to program LM3S8962 without ULINK2 JTAG?

Last year, I purchased a Stellaris LM3S8962 development kit because it was a tier 1 supported device. I then found that LabView only supports programming this device through a ULINK2 JTAG device that costs about $300. I'm a Grad student, and that's too much for me right now.

I purchased a unit that claimed to be a ULINK JTAG on ebay, but I found that it was just a clone of an earlier device, and is not supported either.

Is their any way that I can configure Labview to work with what I have?  I have a Masters project involving PID loop control, and I'd really like to use LabView embedded to generate the code for my Evaluation board. (Without dropping 300 clams on a JTAG)

Thanks in advance,

Scott Livengood

Indiana State University

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(9,680 Views)
Hi Scott! Yes, it is possible using the USB cable, after compiling the program in LabVIEW, right click on the icon of the ARM in the window of the "Project Explorer" then select "Show Keil uvision". In uvision window, click Flash -> Flash Tools Configure and select the form of programming (Luminary), then click on Flash -> Download. This worked with me, but I don't able to debug the application on the board using LabVIEW... I want to know if this is possible using the USB and/or Ethernet cables.
Message 2 of 21
(9,679 Views)

Thanks Evandro,

I will give this solution a try this weekend.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(9,676 Views)

Scott

I also have a project that I am interested in testing without a large upfront investment. Were you able to get your project and the generated code uploaded to your evaluation board? If so, was it a success?

Thanks

Ty S.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 21
(9,404 Views)

Most of Luminary development board have on-board simulator. CoIDE and CoFlash supports Stelaris ICDI, maybe you can use the board directly.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 21