LabVIEW Electrical Power Toolkit

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Having not accurate power factor with Ni USB 6008

I am creating a module that can measure ac power, voltage, current ,power factor etc for single phase loads. I am using NI Electrical Power Suit 2013 with LabVIEW 2013. I am using current and voltage transformers for scaling down the signals. The sampling rate is 1000 and samples to read is also 1000. The output volatge from PT fed to AI0 ch of 6008 reaches to value of 2.5V and CT I am usnig has  1/1000 ratio e.g If I drive a 3A load then 3mA will be fed to AI1 ch of 6008. Voltage values are fine but current values are not accurate. Sorry if my question is too basic as I am new to LabVIEW.

For 60W bulb I am getting -.51 pf which is wrong. It should show unity power factor or near. Its a part of my final year thesis. Please help me. I have tried so much.

Here is the attatched VI. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(7,216 Views)

If you are not familiar with CTs, DO NOT USE THEM!     A CT will generate dangerous voltages if not properly terminated. A 1/1000 ratio CT is a voltage STEP UP transformer with a ratio of 1000/1. If the secondary is open, it acts like a voltage transformer!

The analog inputs of the USB-6009 have an input impedance of about 144000 ohms. If you force 3 mA into that impedance, the voltage will exceed 400 V which will certainly destroy the USB-6009. You should put a resistor load on the output of the CT.

I do not have the Electrical Power Suite, so the subVIs from that toolkit are missing.

You indicate that you want to read 1000 samples but the value on number of samples per channel is -1. That usually means to read all the immediately available samples. You set the DAQmx Timing VI to Finite Samples but did not set the number of samples. is the default what you want?