LabVIEW Channel Wires

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I trying to use Channel Wires like a Queue too much??

ok Blokk thanks! I will try to mess around with that idea and see if I can implement and fully understand what you are describing. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 17
(2,332 Views)

I recently gave a talk to a group of colleagues (I've been asking for two years to give a presentation on Channel Wires to the Rochester (NY) Users Group, but noone from NI seems to remember that we exist, and noone seems to know who would be interested).  I spoke for over four hours and covered lots of "new stuff" for them, including using

Channels instead of Queues for what I took the liberty of called the Channel Message Handler Design (CMH).

Using a CMH, it is really easy to build the system you want.  Here's a description (it's interesting to "do it yourself", so I'll wear my Professor hat ...):

• Create a Message Cluster with two Elements, Msg (an Enum) and Data (a Variant) (just like QMH)
  • Define a Msg Type (Enum) with the following "states":  Init, Start, Log On, Log Off, Acquire, Stop, Quit.
  • Create some Boolean controls:  Start (Latching), Log (On/Off), Stop (Latching).
  • The CMH is a Case-inside-a-While.  On the left Outside, build an Init Message Cluster and create a Messenger Writer.  Bring the Channel into the While Loop.
  • On the "inside", bring the Channel into a Reader.  Unbundle, and send the Msg (Enum) to the Case Statement.  Add Case for Every Value (and get rid of the Default Case).
  • Digression -- an Event loop perched above the CMH.  Program the following Value Changed Events:
    • Start:  Build a Message with Start (Msg), create a Messenger Writer, and bring to right edge of Event Loop.
    • Log:  If Log = True, build Log On Message, otherwise build Log Off.  Create Messenger Channel and add to output from Event Loop.
    • Stop:  Build Stop Message, add output to Event Loop.  Also stop the Event Loop.