New 2014 LabVIEW Champion: Jon McBee

Member Profile - Jon McBee

Me 2.jpg

Name:
Jon McBee

Home:
Uxbridge, MA

Programming Languages:

LabVIEW, TestStand, VeriStand, C (once upon a time), Fortran (once upon a time)

Certification:

Certified LabVIEW Architect, Certified TestStand Developer, Certified Professional Instructor, Certified LabVIEW Embedded Developer

Used LabVIEW Since:

LabVIEW 7.1 (2004)

Applications Areas:

Automated Test, Battery Simulation and BMS testing, Turnkey Systems Integration, User Interface/User Experience Design

Biography:

I graduated from Wheaton College in Norton, MA with a degree in Physics in 2004.  After college I worked in the High Energy Physics laboratory at Colorado State University automating various parts of high energy physics experiments.  It was in the HEP lab at CSU that I taught myself LabVIEW.  After CSU I worked for a wind tunnel testing facility in Colorado, automating wind tunnel testing with LabVIEW.  While there, I co-founded the Northern Colorado LabVIEW Users Group (NOCLUG).  A downturn in the economy led to me moving on to a company specializing in flow measurement test stands and components, where I worked to modify and maintain their suite of LabVIEW test software.  I currently work for Bloomy Controls, a Platinum Alliance Partner, where I am a Senior Project Engineer and also the Education Development Manager.  In early 2013 I co-founded the Mass Compilers LabVIEW Users Group and today we are a thriving community of LabVIEW users.

User Groups:

Mass Compilers LabVIEW Users Group, Northern Colorado LabVIEW Users Group, The Boston LabVIEW Users Group

Discussion Groups:

LAVA, NI Discussion Forums

Websites:

Personal Blog

Mass Compilers

Bloomy Controls

Articles:

Measuring Wind Tunnel Velocity and Turbulence Distribution with the NI LabVIEW Statechart Module and...

Build a Better LabVIEW UI: Part I, Alpha Masks

Build a Better LabVIEW UI: Part II, Drop Shadows

Books:

N/A

Comments
Mark_Yedinak